Advanced search
Compare list
All makes
All manufacturers
For sale
My dcmcm
Mitsubishi Die Cast Models 1:18


The Mitsubishi Group is a Japanese conglomerate, consisting of a range of autonomous businesses which share the Mitsubishi brand, trademark and legacy. It includes three main entities: Mitsubishi Bank, Mitsubishi Corporation and Mitsubishi Heavy Industries, part of which is Mitsubishi Motors. The first Mitsubishi company was a shipping firm established by Yataro Iwasaki in 1870 when it built its first ships. In 1873, its name was changed to Mitsubishi Shokai. Mitsubishi built its first car in 1917, when the Mitsubishi Shipbuilding Co., Ltd. introduced the Model A, Japan's first series-production automobile.

Mitsubishi has always been very active in motorsport. They have won 34 WRC events since 1973. The Lancer Evo has also dominated the FIA championship for showroom-ready cars, winning seven consecutive Group N titles with four different drivers from 1995–2001. Mitsubishi is also the most successful manufacturer in the history of the Dakar Rally, one of the most challenging and dangerous motorsport events in the world. They have won in 1992, '93, '97, '98, and '01–'07.

The name Mitsubishi has two parts: "mitsu" meaning "three" and "hishi" (which becomes "bishi" in the middle of a word) meaning "water caltrop" (also called "water chestnut"), and hence "rhombus", which is reflected in the famous company's logo. It is also translated as "three diamonds".

Mitsubishi official site
2008 - Challenger '08
2007 - Pajero '07
2000 - Pajero '00
1991 - Pajero '91
1982 - Pajero '82
2007 - Lancer '07
2000 - Lancer '00
1995 - Lancer '95
1992 - Lancer '92
1988 - Lancer '88
1979 - Lancer '79
1973 - Lancer '73
1983 - Starion
1970 - Galant Colt GTO
1977 - Galant Lambda 2000 GSR